hockeyyyTHE Gibraltar hockey team has taken home this year’s EuroHockey championships title.

The team won all four games at the Slovenia tournament which ended on August 5, with a 12-0 victory against Cyprus.

Their match against Hungary was their closest call with a narrow 5-2 victory.

Ian Rodriguez was recognised as the best player of the competition, and was the top goal scorer together with Julian Lopez.

The first victory was against Slovenia, with a hat trick scored by Karl Lima, and further points scored by Kayron Stagno, Giles Cerisola, Julian Lopez, and Ian Rodriguez, bringing the final score to 7-2.

The next game saw Gibraltar thrash Finland 8-1 with a hat trick from Kayron Stagno thanks to superb drag flicks from penalty corners.

This, along with the two most recent wins accumulated to the 32 goals the team scored over the competition, with second place team Slovenia scoring 14.

Head Coach, Christian Zammit said: “I am proud of what we have achieved, and in the manner we have achieved it. All 18 players deserve full credit for what has been a fantastic tournament”.